Black Quote

“Do you need god to live a spiritual life? I suppose so, if youre desperate for an authority figure whos invisible, but can be tasted in communion. Cant you just practice what jesus preaches and live a good and upright life. Isnt that spiritual enough? What if you did do that, and because you didnt believe in god he asent you to hell? Well for me that would surely justify not believing in him in the first place. Especially if hes gonna be such a prick.” –Lewis Black, from his book, Me of Little Faith

I love this quote because it says exactly what I’ve always thought, but in a better way than i could’ve said it. I don’t claim to know whether or not a god exists. Almost everything is explainable by science. Science basically disproves every story in the bible, if logic failed to do so beforehand. That is, to a point. There are still some things which science cannot yet explain, such as the origin of the universe, and when scientists cannot explain something, they may even attribute it to a god factor. So who the hell knows? I don’t. Anyone who says they know for sure are full of shit.

What I do know is that I don’t need there to be a god in order to be a good person. If i am going to do something, it’s because it’s what I believe is the right thing to do, not because I think it’s waht Jesus would do. I have my own morals and values that I have developed and am still developing. I rarely went to church or read the bible as a youngster, but I was still able to conclude that its probably a bad idea to murder or steal or lie. I didn’t need a book to figure that out. But thats just me.

If you want to read the bible for inspiration, cool. There are some awesome passages and quotes that can definitely help you be a better person. But its no different than quotes from Einstein or Martin Luther King Jr., except that we know those people definitely existed. It is when you start taking the stories literally that it becomes foolish. A giant boat with every animal and insect on it for 40 days? Come on. I mean, come on.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

